jump to navigation

Hello 2007 January 1, 2007

Posted by monish in General.
trackback

So the year 2007 is here.  2006 has been a relatively good year for me. The past three years have been the best and the worst years of my life in a strange way. I’ve grown immensely as a person. I’ve been thrown into situations and circumstances which have required me to deal with tremendous maturity and there’s been a lot of lerning about myself too.  Its surprising how you might think you know yourself, but you never really know how you will react to circumsances and situations until you are actually confronted by them.

I’ve been having some problems lately with dtermining goals for my life.  I’ve never been one of those people who’ve been ultra focussed ever since they can remember and went out and got what they wanted.  Well, I’ve been like that in very patchy phases.  Right now, I don’t know exactly what I want from my life.  My mindset is kind of, lets kick back and see where life takes me and I’ll deal with whatever thats thrown in my way.  While that might not be such a bad thing, it always keeps you under supsense and that might not always be so nice.  I have no idea of what I’m going to be working as in say 5 years, or where I’ll be working etc etc. Maybe its nott just me and everyone goes through phases such as this.  I’ve never aimed for the stars, I’ve always had modest goals and I’ve been humbled at times when I’ve met or exceeded these goals. I hope 2007 continues to humble me this way. 

I move to Cleveland tomorrow to start off my first real job “job”.  I hope I meet all expectations on that front and I am at peace with what I’m doing.  I’m not looking forward to making big bucks or becoming a CEO in 10 years or anything like that.  I want to be able to do work that interests me and do it well. 

I just heard this song by Sarah McLachlan and thought it was really beautiful.  I loved the lyrics to the song and so I’ mposting an excerpt from it. They’re such meaningful lyrics, such a rarity these days.  It actually struck a chord with me.

“Fallen” By Sarah McLachlan

We all begin with good intents when love was raw and young.
We believe that we could change ourselves, the past can be undone.
Though we carry on our back the burden time always reveals.
In the lonely light of morning, in the wound that would not heal.
It’s the bitter taste of losing everything that I held so dear.

I’ve fallen. I have sunk so low.
I messed up, better I should know.
So don’t come around here and tell me I told you so.

Heaven bent to take my hand, I’ve nowhere left to turn.
I’m lost to those I thought were friends, to everyone I know.
Oh they turn their heads embarrassed, pretend that they don’t see.
That it’s one misstep, one slip before you know it.
And there doesn’t seem a way to be redeemed.  

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

