jump to navigation

Valentine’s Day Storm February 14, 2007

Posted by monish in General.
trackback

Coming back home last night, it was the coldest bus trip I had ever experienced.  5 Degree temperatures with 35MPH winds and 6 inches of snow. It was no less than hell. When I woke up this morning, things seemed to have gotten worse overnight. The view outside my window looked something like this :
img_2142.JPG

It was pretty spectacular really. Having never experienced a blizzard ever, this was pretty memorable for me. Ofcourse I couldn’t make it to work today. So I called up my boss to let him know. I have no idea how he reached the office. Pretty amazing.

So the storm is the significant event for Valentines day 2007. The lesser said about Valentines day the better. Maybe I’m just being bitter but I’ve never been a big fan and I’m glad its not such a big deal here as it was back home. Yes, quite ironic.

I’ve been looking at some CMS options for Blogging the past few days. Although I love WordPress and I’ve become used to its control panel and the way it looks, works and feels. The truth is I realy don’t have much time to re-learn CSS and modifyf the templates etc. as I need to.  I guess that rules out WordPress as an option.  My search led me to “Squarespace”.  Squarespace seems like a special CMS which takes out a lot of the work required to customize a template and yet it alows you the option to manually  adjust the CSS. Overall I like the look and feel of the dashboard. It would take a bit of getting used to but it has a lot of positive points so that makes it the forerunner at this point.  I’ve been reading some reveiws for Squarespace ad they seem to be largely positive, by far.  I was looking for some glaringly obvious shortcomings in this offering but there doesn’t seem to be any.

Looks like I’m going to be snowed in this weekend, so no going to BG.  I hope to meet with some friends this weekend though. Have to see if those plans go ahead too, with this sort of weather, who knows! It is my birthday on Saturday and I turn 26. Might not be a bad day to officially launch the new blog. But I’m not sure I can get everthing
together for the launch so I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment